nutritionedbeautymuse

You can't feel beautiful on the outside, without feeling beautiful on the inside

Hello Lovelies!!

So, I felt an immense need to do a makeup post! So for you guys out there, though this may not be the most super interesting thing for you to read, a little makeup knowledge never hurt anyone! Plus I know that some of you have girlfriends! And if you don’t have a girlfriend, eventually you will have a girl come into your life right? From my knowledge, that is usually the plan. So here’s my disclaimer:

My weight loss tips, skincare tips, and makeup tips, I am not paid to post about them, talk them up, or promote, all of my blogs are my personal opinion on what I feel the product quality is and it is my personal experience.

A couple weeks ago, for some odd, amazing reason, I was doing makeup for peoples’ graduation shoots, makeup for my own shoots, and weddings! All in one week! So many photos I could show but I want to focus on the photo shoot that I did that was really just for the fun of doing it, also because I got my hands on these amazing vintage ear warmers that just made my life! Though it was originally a pretty out of the blue idea, it turned into one of my most favorite shoots that I have done to this day!

How this all came to be is my friend Rachel Chambers runs her own vintage store on Etsy, known as VintagePod but on Esty she is under Vintapod, and during winter last year she hand made these incredibly cute vintage ear warmers, each having their own special little vintage button! I was so obsessed with them that when I bought mine, I wanted to find another model to do an actual photo shoot with them. This was all supposed to happen while it was cold and snowy, that was my original vision. However, it snowed.. a lot, and well, plans changed. Being snowed in can be a blessing and a curse most definitely! No school!! No photo shoot..The plan never happened, and my original model went back to college! So back in the beginning of April, I was talking to my friend Emile, and I was like “WHY DID I NEVER THINK OF ASKING HER TO BE MY SIDEKICK MODEL??” So when I asked her it was like every door that had closed just burst open! She knew an amazing photographer who was willing to work with us that weekend and we got this show on the road.

Our photographer wasn’t just your average photographer, she also is a hair stylist! Taking a huge load off of having to think about makeup, hair and vision of the photo shoot.  If you haven’t heard of Morgan Forrest, you now know of her work! Photos by Morgan Elaine Forrest, definitely check her out because she is so incredibly talented. We all met up at the hair salon she works at, and that’s when our getting ready process started. I will give you the makeup products I used at the end of this blog!

I still wanted to use the ear warmers of course, and I still wanted the same vision: All black, with black leather jackets and boots and then BOOM bright, colorful vintage ear warmers. What I didn’t take into consideration was the fact that for some reason April was having a bipolar moment and well, it went from being nice and breezy to a burning up 89 degrees.  So getting ready definitely took a lot longer than the actual photo shoot.. because we really didn’t want to be out in the heat for too long, but luckily since Morgan was so experienced and knew exactly what she was doing, the shoot only took 20 minutes!

This was definitely one of the edgiest photo shoots I have ever done and it was such an experience.  I do have to say that my friend Emile stretched my modeling skills! It came so easy to her; I had never had to work so hard! I was like, “I don’t know how I feel about this! Haha.”

The products that I used on both Emile and my own face goes as follows:

Face Base:
Artistry Balancing Foundation (Pearl)
Artistry Essentials Concealer (Light)
Artistry Loose Powder (Light)
Artistry 3D Face Powder (For contouring and highlighting)

Eyes:
Urban Decay “Sell out” (Dome and tear duct)
Artistry “Spiral” (crease)
Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Liner
Artistry Volume Mascara
Fake lashes.. Anonymous.. haha

Eyebrows:
Artistry “Rich”

Lips:
Artistry Light-up Lip Gloss (Champaign)

It was all as simple as that!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I will be blogging again shortly!

*Thank you to Morgan Forrest for the wonderful hair and photo shoot
Thank you Rachel Chambers VintagePod for the use of vintage ear warmers

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by .